Home > Works in Progress > The Many Jennie Ellisons of Upstate New York

The Many Jennie Ellisons of Upstate New York

17 February 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Oh geez. Last night I stayed up until about 3:30 am because I got on a tangent. I thought I had made a huge breakthrough! But I didn’t. I did find some useful information, but it’s not nearly as useful as I had thought at one point last night.

I started out working on my To Do item “Fill out all data that I have for generations 3-5.” The Jennie Ellison I’m interested in was born in February 1864 in either Pennsylvania or New York. She lived with her uncle Daniel G. Ellison and aunt Roxy in Genoa, Cayuga County, New York from 1880 on. She married (and later divorced and reverted to her maiden name) Isaac R. Moore of Lansing, Tompkins County, New York, son of William H. and Julia Moore. On census records, her relationship to the head of the house (Daniel G. Ellison) was “niece.”

Looking through my grandmother’s genealogy file, I found a copy of the obituary of Daniel G. Ellison from 1916, but there was no source information. I was able to search on fultonhistory.com for the obituary, and found the issue and date, yay!  Contained in the obituary was Roxy’s maiden name (Palmer), Daniel’s birthplace (Urbana, Steuben County, New York), that Daniel was the last of eight children, the year he moved to Genoa (1858), and that Daniel and Roxy did not have children of their own.  I also learned that Daniel & Roxy were among the largest stockholders of the bank of Genoa, and that Daniel was one of the original directors until he fell ill.  Also interesting were his last words: “Good-bye, I am going, tell everybody good-bye.”

Emboldened by this information, I tried searching Fulton History for more information.  I thought I had found some records of Jennie–however, it seems that there were three Jennie Ellisons in upstate New York at this time: one in Rochester, one in Genoa (my Jennie), and one in Utica.  I have a feeling that they are all related, but I’m also pretty confident that these are three separate women.

But, I did find some useful information.  One bit is posting in the local newspapers summoning people for the settlement of Daniel G. Ellison’s estate, and they are all Ellisons–presumably relatives and some of the “number of nephews and nieces” mentioned in his obituary.  Among them are Ella Ellison Cresson, the sister of Jennie Ellison of Utica and daughter of George and Jane E (Hildreth) Ellison.  Looking up the relationship between the Ellisons mentioned in the summons and Daniel G. Ellison will hopefully bring some successful results.

Not only that, but there was an entry in the Genoa (NY) Tribune, Friday Morning, May 14, 1909: “Miss Jennie Ellison was called to Pennsylvania recently by the death of her brother, Jay Ellison.”  Fingers crossed, I hope this especially will result in something…but I don’t want to get my hopes up.

  1. Terry a moore
    7 February 2012 at 11:26 pm

    Jenny Ellison was my great grandmother and I have a photo of her and the Family bible given to her by her uncle, Daniel Ellison of Genoa. My father, Leslie E Moore, was her grandson. Email me as I have other information. Best regards. Terry

  1. 19 February 2011 at 4:56 am

Leave a Reply

